Media Releases

  • Preysal and Cedros new champions in Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League

    Preysal Government and Cedros RC were crowned the new champions of the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League, after winning the Boys and Girls category respectively at the Queen’s Park Oval on Friday night (June 12). 

    The Girls Finals was played first and both contending schools had travelled from far - Cedros RC from the South Western Peninsula and Whim Anglican from sister isle Tobago.  The Cedros girls were accompanied by three maxi-loads of supporters and as it turned out, these fans were not disappointed. 

    Batting first, the Cedros girls sent in Kelicia Ramchandar and Jade Ramcharitar. With skillful strokes and nimble running, the two formed a valuable partnership, and Kelicia racked up an unbeaten 74 and Jade, a very creditable 23.  After the game's allotted 20 overs, the Cedros girls scored an impressive 155 for one . 

    Then it was time for the Whim Anglican team at crease.  A known giant in the Atlantic-sponsored primary school sports, Whim's girls were never out of the game until the very end, when the experience of Cedros RC tipped the scale against Tobago.  Though their batting performance was steady, the Whim girls fell to deft catches and agile field work.  Whim managed 146 for eight - losing the crown by a narrow margin of nine runs. Shane Dick was top scorer with 17.  Cedros' Kelicia Ramchandar continued her fine performance bagging 3 wickets for 41 and named Player of the Match. 

    For the Boys finals, the stands thundered with drums, chants and cheers from the fans of Preysal Government and Guayaguayare RC.  Batting first, Guayaguayare made 109 for five off their 25 overs.  Top batsmen were Victor Waithe with an unbeaten 31, and Mike Grant made 24.   Sharp bowling from Preysal's Kyle Kissoondath grabbed him 2/18. 

    The Guayaguayare boys then tried to limit Preysal Government from achieving the target, but their efforts were in vain.  Preysal hit 111/6 with six overs to spare.  The Kissoondath brothers, Preysal's stars of the season were again in the limelight, David scoring 18 and Kyle 10.  Guayaguayare's Kunta King took 2/27 and Celvon Salazar 2/13 but Preysal overcame all challenges and seized the victory. 




    Cedros RC 155/1 (20)(Kelicia Ramchandar 74no, Jade Ramcharitar 23) vs Whim Anglican 146/8 (20)(Tellanie Toney 15, Shane Dick 17, Kelicia Ramchandar 3/41) - Cedros RC won by 9 runs. Player of the match - Kelicia Ramchandar. 



    Guayaguayare RC 109/5 (25)(Victor Waithe 31no, Mike Grant 24, Kyle Kissoondath 2/18) vs Preysal Gov’t 111/6 (19)(Kyle Kissoondath 10, David Kissoondath 18, Kunta King 2/27, Celvon Salazar 2/13) - Preysal Gov’t won by 4 wkts.